2011 ABSA Currie Cup Match Schedule


absa-curriecup-logo-300x236 2011 ABSA Currie Cup Match Schedule  The 2011 ABSA Currie Cup kicks off this weekend (on Friday the 15th of July 2011). Competition is set to be intense in this year’s tournament. The Sharks were the 2010 Currie Cup Champions and will be looking to hold their title. The Currie Cup Semi Finals are scheduled for th 22nd of October and the Currie Cup Final will be played on the 29th of October.

Only time will tell if The Sharks can do it again.  They will be facing stiff competition from the likes of the Lions, Pumas, Western Province, Griquas, Blue Bulls, Cheetahs and Leopards though. This year’s tournament is bound to be exciting (besides the fact that this year is a IRB Rugby World Cup year).

This is the full 2011 ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division Match Schedule:

Date Team 1 Team 2 Venue Time
15 July Lions Pumas Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 19:10
16 July Western Province Griquas Newlands,Cape Town 15:00
16 July Free State Cheetahs Leopards Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
16 July The Sharks Blue Bulls Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 17:05
22 July Pumas The Sharks Puma Stadium, Witbank 19:00
22 July Leopards Western Province Profert Olen Park, Potchefstroom 19:10
23 July Griquas Lions Park, Kimberley 15:00
23 July Blue Bulls Free State Cheetahs Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 17:05
29 July Pumas Griquas Puma Stadium, Witbank 19:00
30 July The Sharks Free State Cheetahs Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 15:00
30 July Lions Leopards Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 17:00
30 July Western Province Blue Bulls Newlands, Cape Town 17:05
5 August Leopards Pumas Profert Olen Park, Potchefstroom 19:00
5 August Griquas The Sharks Park, Kimberley 19:10
6 August Free State Cheetahs Western Province Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
6 August Blue Bulls Lions Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 17:05
12 August Pumas Blue Bulls Puma Stadium, Witbank 17:05
12 August Griquas Leopards Park, Kimberley 19:00
12 August Western Province The Sharks Newlands, Cape Town 19:10
13 August Lions Free State Cheetahs Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 19:10
19 August Western Province Lions Newlands, Cape Town TBC
19 August The Sharks Leopards Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 19:10
19 August Blue Bulls Griquas Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:10
20 August Free State Cheetahs Pumas Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
26 August Leopards Blue Bulls Royal Bafokeng Stadium 19:10
27 August Pumas Western Province Puma Stadium, Witbank TBC
27 August Griquas Free State Cheetahs Park, Kimberley 15:00
27 August Lions The Sharks Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 17:05
2 September Pumas Lions Puma Stadium, Witbank 19:10
3 September Leopards Free State Cheetahs Profert Olen Park, Potchefstroom TBC
3 September Griquas Western Province Park, Kimberley 15:00
3 September Blue Bulls The Sharks Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 17:05
9 September Lions Griquas Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 19:10
10 September Western Province Leopards Newlands, Cape Town TBC
10 September The Sharks Pumas Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 15:00
10 September Free State Cheetahs Blue Bulls Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 17:05
16 September Leopards Lions Profert Olen Park, Potchefstroom 19:10
17 September Griquas Pumas Park, Kimberley 15:00
17 September Free State Cheetahs The Sharks Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
17 September Blue Bulls Western Province Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 17:05
23 September Pumas Leopards Puma Stadium, Witbank 15:00
23 September The Sharks Griquas Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 19:10
24 September Lions Blue Bulls Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 15:00
24 September Western Province Free State Cheetahs Newlands, Cape Town 17:05
30 September Blue Bulls Pumas Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:10
1 October Leopards Griquas Profert Olen Park, Potchefstroom 15:00
1 October Free State Cheetahs Lions Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
1 October The Sharks Western Province Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 17:05
8 October Pumas Free State Cheetahs Puma Stadium, Witbank
8 October Griquas Blue Bulls Park, Kimberley 15:00
8 October Leopards The Sharks Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg 16:00
8 October Lions Western Province Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg 17:05
14 October Blue Bulls Leopards Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:10
15 October Free State Cheetahs Griquas Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein 15:00
15 October Western Province Pumas Newlands, Cape Town 17:05
15 October The Sharks Lions Mr Price Kings Park, Durban 19:10
21 October A1 A4 Semi Final 1 TBC
22 October A2 A3 Semi Final 2 TBC
29 October Winner Semi Final 1 Winner Semi Final 2 Final TBC

Watch this space for regular updates in the Sport category on this blog. You might also want to check out the Great Tries section and the photos in the Daily Cool Photo section (some of them were taken at Super 15 matches this year). There is also a Daily Babe section which is updated daily and features over 600 babes from all over the world. Feel free to share any content you enjoy with your friends on Facebook and Twitter.

Do you like what you're reading on Running Wolf's Rant? Join Our Cub House on Facebook!

If you're a fan of SA Music, join the All Things SA Music group on Facebook!

Want to write for this blog? Click here to find how you can become part of the Wolf Pack!

  • Ryna Erasmus

    What time is kick-off of semi-final on the 22 Oct in Johannesburg?

    • @Ryna No time has been announced yet, just checked on the Supersport website 🙂

  • Wilma Kasselman

    We would like to have the 2012 Schedule for the Cutty Cup Rugby