49 Man Preliminary Springbok Squad Announced for 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup


Springbok-Emblem-300x227 49 Man Preliminary Springbok Squad Announced for 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup  It’s almost that time again. There are 81 days left before the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup kicks off in New Zealand. The Springboks are the current world champions and will be looking to defend their title at this year’s tournament. South Africa obtained this title in 2007 when they beat England at the 2007 IRB Rugby World Cup tournament in France.

A 49 man preliminary Springbok IRB Rugby World Cup squad was announced today in Johannesburg. 21 players that were part of the winning 2007 team were re-selected in this group today. The final squad of 30 players will be announced on the 23rd of August.

This is the list of 49 players that have made it into the preliminary Springbok IRB Rugby World Cup squad for the 2011 tournament:

  • Willem Alberts (The Sharks)
  • Gio Aplon (DHL Western Province)
  • Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Andries Bekker (DHL Western Province)
  • Bakkies Botha (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • BJ Botha (Ulster)
  • Heinrich Brüssow (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Schalk Burger (DHL Western Province)
  • Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province)
  • Jean de Villiers (DHL Western Province)
  • Bismarck du Plessis (The Sharks)
  • Jannie du Plessis (The Sharks)
  • Fourie du Preez (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Jaque Fourie (DHL Western Province)
  • Dean Greyling (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Bryan Habana (DHL Western Province)
  • Alistair Hargreaves (The Sharks)
  • Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Adrian Jacobs (The Sharks)
  • Butch James (MTN Golden Lions)
  • Elton Jantjies (MTN Golden Lions)
  • Enrico Januarie (DHL Western Province)
  • Ashley Johnson (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Ryan Kankowski (The Sharks)
  • Zane Kirchner (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Werner Kruger (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Patrick Lambie (The Sharks)
  • Francois Louw (DHL Western Province)
  • Victor Matfield (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Tendai Mtawarira (The Sharks)
  • Johann Muller (Ulster)
  • Lwazi Mvovo (The Sharks)
  • Odwa Ndungane (The Sharks)
  • Wynand Olivier (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
  • JP Pietersen (The Sharks)
  • Chiliboy Ralepelle (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Danie Rossouw (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • John Smit (The Sharks)
  • Juan Smith (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Pierre Spies (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Gurthrö Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Deon Stegmann (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Frans Steyn (Racing Metro)
  • Morne Steyn (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
  • Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
  • Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province)

This is a good mix of players in my opinion. It will be interesting to see who makes it into the final group of 30 players. The Bulls have the most players in the group (16). Western Province has 11 players in the group. 4 of the players are based at overseas clubs. What are your thoughts about this group of players? Please comment on this post and let the readers of Running Wolf’s Rant know what your opinion is. Feedback is appreciated and welcome here.

Watch this space for regular updates in the Sport category on this blog. You might also want to check out the Great Tries section and the photos in the Daily Cool Photo section (some of them were taken at Super 15 matches this year). There is also a Daily Babe section which is updated daily and features over 600 babes from all over the world. Feel free to share any content you enjoy with your friends on Facebook and Twitter.

Do you like what you're reading on Running Wolf's Rant? Join Our Cub House on Facebook!

If you're a fan of SA Music, join the All Things SA Music group on Facebook!

Want to write for this blog? Click here to find how you can become part of the Wolf Pack!

  • Niel

    Where the heck is Sarel Pretorius?

    • Philip

      They decided that a fat and slow Enrico Januarie is better.