Full list of #SAMA2017 winners


The South African Music Awards Winners for 2017 were announced over the weekend during a two night ceremony at the Sun City Superbowl. I was invited, but unfortunately I could not make it.

SAMA-23-720x266 Full list of #SAMA2017 winners

I’m not in the mood for beating around the bush, so here’s the full list of #SAMA2017 winners:

  • Best Newcomer of the Year – Amanda Black – Amazulu
  • Best Duo-Group of the Year – Black Motion – Ya Badimo
  • Best Female Artist of the Year – Amanda Black – Amazulu
  • Best Male Artist of the Year – Kwesta – Dakar II
  • Best Album of the Year – Kwesta – Dakar II
  • Record of the Year – Nasty C – Hell Naw
  • Best Maskandi Album – Khuzani – Inyoni yomthakathi
  • Classical Instrumental Album – Charl du Pleassis Trio – Baroqueswing Vol.II
  • Best Afro Pop Album – Vusi Nova – Vusi Nova
  • African Indigenous Gospel Album – Living In Christ Legends – Living In Christ Legends
  • Best Rock Album – Albert FrostThe Wakeup
  • Best Pop Album – GoodLuck – The Nature Within
  • Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album – Joshua na die Reën – Die Wêreld Binne My
  • Best Rap Album – Kwesta – Darak II
  • Best Kwaito Album – Dr Malinga – Goodwill
  • Best Dance Album – Black Motion – Ya Badimo
  • Best Traditional Faith Music Album – Sprit of Praise – Spirit of Praise Vol.6
  •  Samro Highest Airplay of the Year – Ngud – Kwesta

Congratulations to all the winners and a special congrats to Albert Frost, the winner of the Best Rock Album award. The Wake Up was definitely one of the best local rock albums of 2016.

Watch this space for regular updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant.



Do you like what you're reading on Running Wolf's Rant? Join Our Cub House on Facebook!

If you're a fan of SA Music, join the All Things SA Music group on Facebook!

Want to write for this blog? Click here to find how you can become part of the Wolf Pack!