Home Facts 10 Facts: Malawi

10 Facts: Malawi


Malawi is a landlocked country in Sub-Saharan Africa which is bordered by Zambia to the North West, Tanzania to the North East, and Mozambique on the East, South and West. The country is separated from Tanzania and Mozambique by Lake Malawi.

Here are some facts about Malawi you may not have known:

  • Malawi was formerly known as Nyasaland.
  • Nyasaland gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1964 (after being colonized by the British in 1891).
  • Blantyre is the largest city in the country.
  • Lilongwe is the capital of the country and the 2nd largest city in the country with a population of +/- 860,000.
  • The country was a single-party state under the presidency of Hastings Banda, who was president from 1966 until 1994 (when he was ousted from power).
  • Bingu wa Mutharika is the current president of the country (which has been a multi-party democracy since 1994).
  • Malawi has an estimated population of 15 million people.
  • The Kwacha is the Malawian national currency.
  • Both Lake Malawi National Park and Chongoni Rock Art Area (which are located in the country) are World Heritage Sites.
  • The highest point is Sapitwa the highest peak on the Mulanje Mountain which stands at 3,002 m.

If I’ve left out anything interesting about this country, please comment on this post. Watch this space for regular updates on RWR.

Want to know who our friends are? Click here

Need to kill some time? Read a random article on RWR! Click here

Click here to explore all the sections on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to read our latest reviews on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to listen to Matt Haddon's Corporate Punks Podcast


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here