2018 South African Music Awards (SAMA) Winners announced

The 2018 South African Music Awards ceremony was held this weekend at Sun City in the North West province. The evening of Friday the 1st of June was a night of celebration and fashion as celebrities lit up the red carpet and performances on the Sun City Superbowl stage had the audience on their feet.

The likes of nominees such as Shane Eagle, Ntando, Tribute Birdie Mboweni, Thabsie, Zoe Modiga, Tresor and Wouter Kellerman performed some of the biggest songs of the year. Late musicians Hugh Masekela, Robbie Malinga and Ray Phiri were among those honoured in the In Memoriam section.

South African Music Awards 2018

Enthused RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi had this to say about Friday night: “Tonight has been exceptionally good. We are proud of the nominees and those who emerged as winners. Let this be just the push they need to reach greater heights, we at SAMA salute and honour them.”

Daddy Sebolecwe, Communications Director for sponsors, the North West Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs had this to say about Friday: “This was a roaring start to the SAMA 24 event. The first night set the tone for this year’s SAMA event. We are proud to be part of such a prestigious ceremony.”

Here’s the full list of South African Music Awards winners that were announced on Friday:

  • Best Adult Contemporary Album – Symphonic Soweto by Wouter Kellerman and Soweto Gospel Choir
  • Best African Adult Contemporary Album – Ilanga by Siseko Pame
  • Best Alternative Music Album – Mangaliso by Bongeziwe Mabandla
  • Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album – Relationships by Afrotraction
  • Best Contemporary Faith Music Album – Heaven’s Ways by Nqubeko Mbatha
  • Beste Pop Album – Laat Die Dansvloer Brand by Kurt Darren
  • Best Jazz Album – Ikhambi by Nduduzo Makhathini
  • Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album – Baroqueswing Vol. III by Charl du Plessis Trio
  • Best Traditional Music Album – Jessica Mbangeni Sings iGoli Live @ Lyric Theatre Johannesburg by Jessica Mbangeni
  • Best African Artist Album – The Simphiwe Dana Symphony Experience by Simphiwe Dana
  • Best Live Audio Visual Recording/ DVD – Red Mic Xperience by Donald – Produced by Robin Kohl
  • Best Collaboration – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto
  • Music Video of the Year – Arumtumtum by Rouge – Directed by Alex Fynn
  • Best Produced Album – Late Night People by Goldfish – Produced by Dominic Peters and David Poole
  • Best Engineered Album – 20 by Mafikizolo – Engineered by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe
  • Remix of the Year – I Got You by Encore remixed by Mobi Dixon
  • Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land
  • Best Selling Album – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal our Land
  • CAPASSO Best Selling Digital Download Composer – Timothy Bambela Myeni

Last night was a good night for newcomer Shekhinah at the 24th edition of SA Music Awards. Shekhinah swept the boards taking the Newcomer of the Year, Album of the Year and Female Artist of the Year awards for the sterling work on her debut album Rose Gold. And I’m extremely happy to report that Fokofpolisiekar walked away with the SAMA for Best Rock Album!


The glittering high octave celebrity event hosted by TV and radio stars Somizi Mhlongo and Dineo Ranaka and comedian Mpho Popps was broadcast live on SABC 1 and featured performances by Distruction Boyz, Lady Zamar, Shwi noMtekhala, Shekhinah, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Bongeziwe Mabandla and Riky Rick. South African President Cyril Ramaphosa and Nathi Mthethwa, Minister of Arts and Culture were among the dignitaries that graced the night.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO had this to say about last night: “Tonight has been a remarkable night of celebrating the best our country has to offer. We salute all the winners and the nominees and we thank the public for their undying support for local music. We applaud everyone who made SAMA24 such a successful project.”

Mme O.R Mochware, MEC for Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs in North West had this to say: “Congratulations to all the winners. The winners were all worthy of their medals in such a competitive and prestigious event. We are proud to be associated with the SAMAs.”

Here’s a full list of the South African Music Awards winners who were announced last night:

  • Best Selling Digital Artist of the Year – Joyous Celebration Volume 21 Heal Our Land by Joyous Celebration
  • Sampra Highest Airplay of the Year – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto
  • Best Traditional Faith Music Album – Andile kaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele by Andile kaMajola
  • Best African Indigenous Gospel Album – Samson Aphi Amandla Akho by Vuma Zion
  • Best Kwaito Album – Highly Flavoured by Busiswa
  • Best Afro Pop Album – 20 by Mafikizolo
  • Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album – Skepe by Jo Black
  • Best Pop Album – The Beautiful Madness by Tresor
  • Samro Highest Airplay of the Year Composer’s Award – Akanamali by Sun El Musician featuring Samthing Soweto composed by Sanele T Sithole
  • International Achievement Award – Shashika Mooruth
  • Best Rock Album – Selfmedikasie by Fokofpolisiekar
  • Best Hip Hop Album – Yellow by Shane Eagle
  • Best Dance Album – King Zamar by Lady Zamar
  • Best Maskandi Album – 6 to 6 by Abafana Baka Mgqumeni
  • Newcomer of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah
  • Duo or Group of the Year – 20 by Mafikizolo
  • Female Artist of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah
  • Male Artist of the Year – I Am Music by Prince Kaybee
  • Album of the Year – Rose Gold by Shekhinah
  • Record of the Year – Omunye by Distruction Boyz

Congratulations to all the winners! We are extremely proud of you all! Thanks for making the South African Music Scene an exciting one!

Watch this space for regular updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant.


Henno Kruger

Blogger, Desktop Activist, Twitter / Facebook Addict, Music Festival Addict, Avid lover of South African music, Founder and owner of Running Wolf's Rant

Leave a Reply