Home Entertainment Music More artists added to Oppikoppi 2016 line-up

More artists added to Oppikoppi 2016 line-up


Oppikoppi 2016 is less than 2 months away and the excitement for this event (which is considered by many to be the best music festival in South Africa) is reaching extreme levels. If you ask me, this is definitely because the local line-up is absolutely amazing.

The following acts have been added to the line-up in the last few weeks:

Fever Trails, Dj Speedsta, Sketchy Bongo ft. Aewon Wolf, Ella G, DJ Bob, SA Music legend Matthew Van der Want, Medicine Boy, Raygun Royale, Buli, Bhashkar, Just Smart, Escapism Refuge, Themba Lunacy, The Hip Replacements, Indie rock gods We Are Charlie, rock band of note The Ts & Cs, 2 Lee Stark, Bruce Loko, Daev Martian, Ready D, Silva Black, Petite Noir, Josie Field & Laurie Levine, Albert Frost (who has played at each and every Oppikoppi festival since its inception in 1994), MiSLeD, Tha Cutt, Willim Welsyn, Kid Fonque, Wolfgang Marrow, Julian Redpath, Maddy Behrens, South African rap legend Jack Parow, Shotgun Tori, Academie, Panti Thug Mystery, Femi Koya, Hezron Chetty, Gangsterdam, Rambling Bones, Julian Gomes, Valiant Swart & Anton L’Amour, Sheldon Payne & The Blue Veins, Pretoria based party-vibe-setters Monkeys in Boots, Gunshot Blue, The Oh So Serious, Asanda Mquiki, Strait-Jackal, Stone Jets, Scarlotte Will, SA rock legends Wonderboom, Adelle Nqeto, 7th Son, Kings Down South and Michael Canfield.

In case you missed it, here’s the rest of the line-up:

Yelawolf (USA), August Burns Red (USA), Kongos (USA), Prime Circle, Schalk Joubert Band, Umle, Ruby Gill, Nakhane Touré, Jerry And The Bandits, The Near Misses, Tuin, Crystal Park, Sayonara, Neo Galaxy, Bad Peter, Gert Volk Nel, The Kiffness, The Plastics, Follow Me Follow You, Reason, Johnny Cradle, Tresor, TCIYF, Howie Combrink, Gerald Clark, One Day Sky, The Hellphones, Satanic Dagga Orgy, Made for Broadway, Boargazm, Fokofpolisiekar, Sannie Fox, The Sextons, Jack Rolling Dandy’s, The Tazers, Caroline Liesegang, Urban Village, Bombshelter Beast, Easy Freak, Thieve, Jonathan Peyper , New Academics, Man As Machine, Chambers, Boxer, Bongeziwe Mabandla, DMDC, The Fishwives, De Wallen, Bittereinder, Art Snakes, Go Barefoot, Hellcats, Late Night Fox, Sol Gems, Ricky Rick, Tidal Waves, Bye Beneco, Newtown Knife Gang, The Narrow, Georgetown, Sutherland, Josh Kempen, The Moths and Grassy Spark.

The following stand-up comedians have also been announced for the festival:

Warren Robertson, Tshireletso Mo Mothebe, Deep Fried Man, Alfred Adriaan, Lazola Gola, Simmi Areff, Nqoba Comedian, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Hannes Brummer, Melt Sieberhagen and Robby Collins.

Excited? Well you should be! I can’t wait to hear who else will be added to this amazing line-up for Oppikoppi 2016. I really can’t wait to experience the dust, tunes and the interesting people that this amazing festival offers every year. General Admission tickets cost R850. Get yours now or you’ll be paying R950 for a late ticket. Take note that NO TICKETS WILL BE SOLD AT THE FESTIVAL GATE.

Also take note: Oppikoppi: For the lovely young taken to THE UNSEA is brought to you by Windhoek, Red Bull, Jose Cuervo, Chevrolet, MTV, Limpopo Tourism, the Department of Arts & Culture and Hilltop Live and will take place from the 5th to the 7th of August this year.

Watch this space for regular updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here