Home Entertainment Music Second batch of artists added to Oppikoppi 2016 line-up

Second batch of artists added to Oppikoppi 2016 line-up


Oppikoppi kicks off just over 3 months from now and it promises to be one of the musical highlights of 2016. Music lovers have been going bananas about the line-up for this year’s festival and I can understand why: because it’s just simply amazing.

Over the last few weeks the following acts have been added to this year’s festival line-up:

Prime Circle (who have not played at Oppikoppi since the mid 2000’s), Schalk Joubert Band, Umle, Ruby Gill, Nakhane Touré, Jerry And The Bandits, The Near Misses, Tuin (who is returning after a brilliant debut performance last year), Crystal Park (who will be bringing good Benoni vibes with them), Sayonara, Neo Galaxy, Bad Peter, Gert Volk Nel, The Kiffness, The Plastics, Follow Me Follow You, Reason, Johnny Cradle, Tresor, Soweto Punk Rock band TCIYF, Howie Combrink, Gerald Clark, OneDaySky, The Hellphones, Satanic Dagga Orgy, Joburg Punk Pop maestros Made for Broadway, Boargazm (who will be bringing their blend of “Vark Metaal” to the festival for the first time since 2014) and KONGOS (who just released a new single and are making their way to Oppikoppi from the USA for the first time since 2012).

Hilltop Live has also announced two additional KONGOS shows for August 2016. They will be playing at the Botanical Gardens in Durban on the 3rd of August and at Hillcrest Quarry in Cape Town on the 5th of August 2016. Both shows will feature additional South African artists. Tickets are available on Computicket.

In case you missed the other artists who have been announced, here the first batch:

August Burns Red (USA), Fokofpolisiekar, Sannie Fox, The Sextons, Jack Rolling Dandy’s, The Tazers, Caroline Liesegang, Urban Village, Bombshelter Beast, Easy Freak, Thieve, Jonathan Peyper , New Academics, Man As Machine, Chambers, Boxer, Bongeziwe Mabandla, DMDC, The Fishwives, De Wallen, Bittereinder, Art Snakes, Go Barefoot, Hellcats, Late Night Fox, Sol Gems, Ricky Rick, Tidal Waves, Bye Beneco, Newtown Knife Gang, The Narrow, Georgetown, Sutherland, Josh Kempen, The Moths and Grassy Spark.

I can’t wait to hear who else will be added to the line-up. I think that things are just going to get better from this point forward. I just can’t wait to experience the dust, tunes and the interesting people that this festival offers.

Excited? General Admission tickets cost R850. Get yours now! Otherwise you’ll be paying R950 for a late ticket and do take note that NO TICKETS WILL BE SOLD AT THE FESTIVAL GATE.

Take note: Oppikoppi: For the lovely young taken to THE UNSEA is brought to you by Windhoek, Red Bull, Jose Cuervo, Chevrolet, MTV, Limpopo Tourism, the Department of Arts & Culture and Hilltop Live and will take place from the 5th to the 7th of August this year.

Watch this space for regular updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant.

Want to know who our friends are? Click here

Need to kill some time? Read a random article on RWR! Click here

Click here to explore all the sections on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to read our latest reviews on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to listen to Matt Haddon's Corporate Punks Podcast



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here