Home Entertainment Music Tuks FM 107.2 Wins 7 MTN Radio Awards

Tuks FM 107.2 Wins 7 MTN Radio Awards


The 2013 MTN Radio Awards were held on Saturday at the Sandton Convention Center in Johannesburg. The best of SA radio was honored at this 4th annual event. The MTN Radio Awards recognizes talent and hard work on air and behind the scenes of South Africa’s commercial, public broadcasting, community and campus radio stations.

Pretoria based Campus and Community radio station Tuks FM 107.2 is my favorite radio station to listen to in Gauteng and did the capital city proud again this year. The station walked away with no less than seven 2013 MTN Radio Awards. Not bad for a station that operates from a tiny studio on the University of Pretoria main campus!

Congratulations to all the Tuks FM 107.2 2013 MTN Radio Awards winners. Tuks FM 107.2 walked away with the award for Campus Station of the year for a second year in a row, Alex Caige walked away with the award for Best Campus Breakfast Presenter, Nolz van der Merwe walked away with the award for Best Campus Afternoon Drive Presenter,  Sydney King won the Best Campus News Bulletin Reader Award, the Bang Bang Breakfast was rewarded for being the Best Campus Breakfast Show, the Solid State (presented by Wayne Van Jaarsveld) was awarded the Best Campus Night Time Show and the Tuks FM Top 30 (presented by James Nevin) won the  Best Campus Music Show. I hope that Tuks FM keeps on rocking the capital city and Gauteng for many years to come!

Attention Joburgers: Tuks FM 107.2 strengthened their signal last year. This basically means that you can tune in to catch some of the best local and rock music in the city of gold too. Trust me, you will not be disappointed.

Other MTN Radio Awards winners included Kaya FM (for best Commercial Radio Station), 702’s David O’Sullivan (for best Commercial Afternoon Drive Presenter), 5FM’s The Fresh Drive (for best Commercial Afternoon Drive Show), Jacaranda FM’s The Work Zone With Barney Simon (for the best Commerical Day Time Show) and Koos Radepe (who won the Lifetime Achiever award for 2013).

Watch this space for regular updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant

PS: This post is part of the A-Z Blog Challenge that I have joined for April 2013

Want to know who our friends are? Click here

Need to kill some time? Read a random article on RWR! Click here

Click here to explore all the sections on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to read our latest reviews on Running Wolf's Rant

Click here to listen to Matt Haddon's Corporate Punks Podcast



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here