SAMA26 Winners Announced

The SAMA26 Winners have been announced. SAMA26 was streamed on by Vodacom and broadcast on Mzansi Magic, DStv channel 161 from 3 to 7 August 2020 at 9:30pm. SAMA26 episodes are available on DStv Catch Up.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO comments on the week’s proceedings

“It has been a great week of celebration and festivities. We at the SAMA are delighted that despite the Covid-19 restrictions of lockdown and social distancing, the show indeed has gone on. We extend our congratulations to all the musicians who received the prestigious SAMA, as well as the nominees and our honourees. Let’s stand by our artists and support their efforts.

 “We owe a debt of gratitude to the creatives behind the scenes who brought this lockdown spectacle to life and for five nights entertained South Africans. A message of gratitude to our sponsors My Muze by Vodacom and broadcast partner Mzansi Magic, DStv channel 161. We look forward to SAMA27 with the hope that our country and the world would be in a better place, free from Covid-19, for now keep safe and keep the music playing.”

SAMA26 Winners

Rehana Hassim, Executive Head for Digital & Lifestyle at Vodacom comments

“My Muze, powered by Vodacom, was created to give artists and fans a digital platform that celebrates the biggest passion point amongst South Africans…music. That’s why we partnered with the SAMAs to amplify the amazing talent that our country has produced. We congratulate all the winners tonight and throughout the week. We wish them all the best in the coming year, and hope that through My Muze we can connect them for a better future.”

Nomsa Philiso, Director of Local Entertainment Channels at M-Net comments

“As the curtain draws on this year’s SAMA awards, we look back at all the magical moments, the performances, the suspense and the acceptance speeches. From all theme winners to lifetime achievers that brought us to tonight – the climax – the show was what it was because of the nominees, winners, our viewers at home, all the sponsors and most importantly, the event organisers led by RiSA. A special shout out to everyone involved in putting this event together and to our viewers, stay home and stay safe and enjoy the music, Mzansi Style!”.

Here are the full list of SAMA26 Winners:

#ForThaClub Winners

Best Rock Album: Dagdrome in Suburbia by Francois van Coke

Duo/Group of the Year: Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi

Album of the Year: Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee

International Achievement Award: Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best Remix: “Shay’inumber” by Malumz on Decks

Best Dance Album (In Partnership with YFM): Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee

Record Of The Year: Ibhanoyi by Blaq Diamond

#ForThaCraft Winners

Best Live Audio Visual Recording: Glory in His Presence by Benjamin Dube

Best Engineered Album: Into Dust/Waltz for Jozi by Peter Auret

Best Classical Album: Andaluza – Music of Spain III by James Grace

Female Artist of the Year: Ami Faku for Imali

Best Produced Music Video: “Fetch Your Life” by Ofentse Mwase

Music Video Of The Year: “Jika” by AKA featuring Yanga Chief

Lifetime Achievement Award: Benjamin Dube

#ForThaStreets Winners

Best Kwaito Album:  Ikhenani by DJ Tira

Beste Pop Album: #Partytjiedier by Kurt Darren

Best Pop Album: Ghost by Matthew Mole

Best Hip Hop Album: Becoming A Popstar by Yanga Chief

Best Selling DVDVolume 23 Live at CTICC by Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Artist: Mlindo the Vocalist for Emakhaya

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dan Tshanda

#ForThaSoul Winners

Best  Afro Pop Album: Isphithiphithi by Samthing Soweto

Best Reggae Album: True Stories by Bongo Riot Di Dancehall Wakanda

Best African Adult Contemporary Album: Folklore-Chapter 1 by Pilani Bubu

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Africa by Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best R&B/Soul Album: My Heart To Your Soul by Lungisa Xhamela

Best Alternative Music Album:  Cult Pop by Lo-Ghost

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album: Glory In His Presence by Benjamin Dube

Male Artist of the Year: Prince Kaybee for Re Mmino

#ForThaRoots Winners

Best Maskandi Album: Upopayi by Thokozani Langa

Best Traditional Music AlbumUngabanaki by Qadasi & Maqhinga

Best Collaboration: Say U Will by K.O featuring Nandi Madida

Best Traditional Faith Music Album: Calvary by Dumi Mkokstad

Newcomer of the Year: Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi: The African Symphony

Best African Indigenous Faith Album: Lona Ba Ratang Ho Phela by Amadodana Ase Wesile

Best Jazz AlbumQueen Nandi: The African Symphony by Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble

Beste kontemporêre Musiek Album: Sterker by Riana Nel

Rest of Africa AwardA Good Time by Davido (Nigeria)

There you have it, the full list of SAMA26 winners. Congratulations to all the winners! I wish them all of the best with their future musical endeavours.

Watch this space for updates in the Music category on Running Wolf’s Rant.

  • 10
  • 10

Henno Kruger

Blogger, Desktop Activist, Twitter / Facebook Addict, Music Festival Addict, Avid lover of South African music, Founder and owner of Running Wolf's Rant

Leave a Reply